IN A FLASH – A Challenge to Read Flash Fiction

I recently got into a bit of a row with a fellow blogger over Flash Fiction, the literary genre that is usually between 500 and 1000 words. Is a thousand words really too long or is our attention span getting much shorter? Can we squeeze a good story into the space of a tweet, or do we want a chunky tome to set us back a good week or two?

There’s got to be a middle ground.

I remember 10 years ago when a friend told me that a 5,000 word story was too long. Then, 5 years ago that same friend said my award-winning 2,500 word story – A Fight for Life was too long.

I get it: we’re all hopped up on energy drinks and scrolling through social media so fast that we couldn’t bare to sit still for 15 minutes and just read. Crazy, right?!

So, here’s a challenge: I’m giving away FREE short stories to celebrate the release of my Flash Fiction collection, appropriately titled IN A FLASH. I’d love to hear your thoughts about the stories themselves and the genre of Flash Fiction, as well. To get your FREE stories, just visit my publisher’s website – CLICK HERE.

You can also buy the book if you like; it costs less than a latte.

IN A FLASH: A Collection of Very Short Stories

A Book of Short Stories
A Book of Short Stories
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

